Thieving Skydiver
Creature — Merfolk Rogue
Kicker {X}. X can't be 0. (You may pay an additional {X} as you cast this spell.)
Flying
When Thieving Skydiver enters the battlefield, if it was kicked, gain control of target artifact with mana value X or less. If that artifact is an Equipment, attach it to Thieving Skydiver.
Kieran Yanner
2/1
 
other variations: 1 2
Printed in $ TIX
Zendikar Rising $1.17 $1.17 €1.46 n/a 0.04
Zendikar Rising $2.53 $3.11 €2.20 n/a
Zendikar Rising Promos $2.66 $2.24 €1.25 n/a
Zendikar Rising Promos
Magic Online Promos n/a 1.40

Thieving Skydiver

basic creature merfolk rogue flying kicker

Basic Creature - Merfolk Rogue

Kicker {X}. X can't be 0. (You may pay an additional {X} as you cast this spell.)
Flying
When Thieving Skydiver enters the battlefield, if it was kicked, gain control of target artifact with mana value X or less. If that artifact is an Equipment, attach it to Thieving Skydiver.

drawn by Kieran Yanner

Part of the Zendikar Rising set, number 85 out of 391 cards.

Rulings

  • 2020-09-25

    If the Equipment can’t be attached to Thieving Skydiver, most likely because Thieving Skydiver has left the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the Equipment remains attached to whatever it’s currently attached to or remains unattached if attached to nothing.

  • 2020-09-25

    Thieving Skydiver’s ability can target an artifact you already control. You’ll attach it to Thieving Skydiver if it’s an Equipment.

  • 2020-09-25

    The control-change effect of Thieving Skydiver lasts indefinitely. It doesn’t wear off during the cleanup step, and it doesn’t expire if Thieving Skydiver leaves the battlefield. In a multiplayer game, it does expire if you leave the game.

  • 2020-09-25

    Kicker represents an optional additional cost that you may choose to pay as you cast the spell. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is “kicked.”

  • 2020-09-25

    You can’t pay a kicker cost more than once.

  • 2020-09-25

    If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can’t kick it.

  • 2020-09-25

    If you copy a kicked spell, the copy is also kicked. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that’s already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn’t kicked, even if the original was.

  • 2020-09-25

    To determine a spell’s total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card’s effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.

  • 2020-09-25

    Some instant or sorcery spells require alternative or additional targets if they’re kicked. You ignore these targeting requirements if those spells aren’t kicked, and you can’t kick those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can kick a permanent spell even if you won’t be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.

  • 2020-09-25

    An ability that triggers when a player casts a kicked spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger, but after targets have been chosen for that spell. It resolves even if that spell is countered.

Also printed in these other sets

Be the first to add a comment

In main board

most recently submitted decks

In side board

most recently submitted decks

Nobody has this card in their collection.

Nobody has this card in their wishlist.